Reseñas para

Not Available

Opiniones sobre Productos (101)

In-Sink-Erator

Puntos Fuertes: Works & Installs As Advertised

Puntos Débiles: Dishwasher connection harder to connect than older model.

Overall very happy with this product. Had a previous GE that lasted several years and finally gave up (in part due to my ill-advised attempts to fix it). So picked up this product to replace it.

Installation was rather simple, it fit the universal mount already on the sink and was connected in a few minutes. The only difficulty was the connection to the dishwasher hose involves two screws which hold on a plate which holds the hose in places. This is fine except one of the screws ends up directly behind the hose when you go to install the unit and can make it a little more difficult than the older version which just had a male end which the hose slid over.

Been using since the day it was installed without any issues or problems.

Por mrchngsax - Feb 23, 2008

In-Sink-Erator Badger-V

Puntos Fuertes: Durable, reliable, well built, good price point

Puntos Débiles: None on the old model. Housing on new model doesn't seem as strong.

Replaced my first Badger-V with another one. The first one lasted over 16 years without a single day of trouble. Because of this reliability I purchased another one. Didn't even look at any other models. The Badger-V is reasonable priced for the quality of the product.

Por grandpamoose - Apr 30, 2008

Works great.

I finally got my Badger 5 1/2 HP Garbage Disposal installed and love it. Very quiet and works great. Very pleased with my purchase from Home Depot.

Por perkyrn on Home Depot - Jun 16, 2013

badger 5

Puntos Fuertes: It works but reccomened to get the upgraded one Badger 9

Puntos Débiles: After 3yrs it's strated leaking inside the motor dripping down on one of the holes on the bottom cousing my GRFI switch to go out nice for the value but It won't last long..

If your going to get a Garbage Disposal don't get the cheap one becouse on a long run you will buy a new one every 2yrs to 3yrs.. So save your time nad money...

Por biglaan1234 - Jan 17, 2008

Go with another maker

Less than 5 years? Of very light usage. Really, InSinkerator? Thats pathetic. Leaks like a collander, and no way to repair it. I do like the added bonus of the water damage, though. Thats a nice touch. Do yourself a favour folks, go with just about any other manufacturer. Because these units aren't worth a dime.

Por malamute on Home Depot - Dec 1, 2012

Great simple disposal

Puntos Fuertes: easy to install, works fine

Puntos Débiles: a little loud

After I accidentally dropped something into my old disposal (a step down from this one) I thought I had to call a plumber and get a new disposal installed since I know nothing about this stuff.

Luckily I did some quick research and realized I could replace this thing on my own. I found this model In-sink-erator on Amazon, slightly better than the one I had for around $70. Looked the same, and reviews suggested I wouldn't have to switch any of the other parts out.

The toughest thing was removing the old one since I didn't understand at first how to "unscrew" it off the mounting bracket. Figured it out and had the new one in there in 10 minutes. Glad I didn't call a plumber as this was quite easy. The previous insinkerator came with the house so it lasted almost 9 years.

The disposal itself works fine, I have it hooked into a switch near the sink. It's a little loud, but they have other more expensive models that more quiet... but not something I really cared about much.

Por blackcapten - Jul 30, 2008

Worthless

Puntos Fuertes: Works well for a while

Puntos Débiles: Limited lifespan

We had a badger 5 in the new house we moved into. 3 years later, the plastic casing of the unit has cracked. This is no repairable.

I phoned Insinkerator, and their response was it is out of warranty, suck it up.

So if you want a unit you get to replace every 3 years, go ahead, I am replacing it with something else.

By anonymous; - Feb 13, 2008

Insinkerator model badger 5

Puntos Fuertes: Very good cutting blades, very strong motor, quiet operation. Easy installation, well defined instructions.

Puntos Débiles: Could have been designed with a stainless steel cutting plate. Should have a place to store the service tool, clamp on side of motor body would be a recommendation

Good value for the money. Would recommend to others. I can see some of the cost cutting that has been done to the replacement unit I installed. One is the rubber back-splash (Opening to the disposal). The rubber has been down graded from the unit that I have removed. Just way to much flex. Should be revisited be insinkerator.

Por dkarnafe - Jan 13, 2008

Insinkerator Badger 5 is a good buy

Puntos Fuertes: Long service life, easy to install, good price, clear instructions

Puntos Débiles: None

All the work came 12 years ago when I replaced my old garbage disposer with a Badger 5. That installation probably took six hours because the old unit was nothing like the new one. When the unit started leaking recently, I simply purchased another Badger 5. The replacement took half an hour with a minimum of tools needed. There were no changes to this unit which had any impact on the installation. Everything lined up perfectly. I am impressed with the service life of this model. If I had replaced it when the rubber ring which minimimizes splashback started to deteriorate or when it started making too much noise (about a year ago) I could have avoided a puddle on the kitchen floor and a rush to get to the store on a Sunday before it closed. On the other hand, our dinner guests got to see how easy it is to replace this unit and the second half of the football game was awful so I didn't miss anything.

Por HankHomeowner - Dec 1, 2008

Original lasted over ten years.

Puntos Fuertes: Will grind most anything you put into it. Best unit in this price range. Reasonably easy to install. Comes with a hex key to clear any clogs.

Puntos Débiles: Could be more quiet.

I have gone through several disposers in the 30 or so years I have been a homeowner. I have tried the cheaper 1/3 horsepower disposers and found they clog more easily and don't last. They are not worth the $10 or $20 you save.

I have also tried the more expensive 3/4 and 1 horsepower insulated units. They don't seem to grind any better than the 1/2 horsepower models. And the noise seems to come out the top of these, so all the insulation around the bottom doesn't help much to control noise.

Of the right-sized 1/2 horsepower models, I have tried a GE, a Kitchenaid, a Maytag, and an Insinkerator. The Insinkerator worked the best and lasted the longest. I finally did wear one out, but it took just over ten years to do it. So I am replacing it with an identical unit. If you do get a clog, the Insinkerator has a wrench to turn the unit from the bottom. It works much better than the old broom handle in the top trick. We cook a lot, but try to put big piles of peelings or vegetable matter in the trash or the compost pile rather than down the disposer. Not because the Insinkerator won't handle them, but we're trying to be somewhat responsible with water use and the environment. We have a neighbor who tried to be fully green and left a disposer out of her recent kitchen remodel. She wants one back now.

Bottom line, you can spend a little less or a whole lot more, but the 1/2 horsepower Insinkerator is the best of the many disposers I have tried.

Por cjendurance - Aug 13, 2007

great garbage disposal

Puntos Fuertes: It grinds up everything we put into it.

Puntos Débiles: none

We are very happy with our new Badger garbage disposal. It was very easy to install and it grinds up even heavy citrus peels. I haven't tried banana peels yet. It is a very good product for the money.

Por theresahundt - May 20, 2007

Unit leaked out the bottom

I only wish I had done more research online prior to buying this. The noise level was fine, and quieter than the unit it replaced. It did an adequate job of handling fruits and vegetables, but it struggled to process vegetable peels. It did clog up a couple of times, eventually requiring my to remove the tailpiece to free the clog. But the bigger issue is that it developed a leak out the bottom of the unit. Fortunately, I saw this, and it did not saturate my kitchen cabinet. The leak developed after the two-year warranty had expired. I have rebuilt engines, etc., and so am a mechanically inclined guy. Thinking I could simply replace a seal, I researched this and was unhappy to see that the upper portion of the disposal is a one-piece, non-serviceable unit. The customer service rep's recommendation was simply to buy a replacement unit. I will replace this with a product with a better reputation and much longer warranty.

Por Scott on Home Depot - Jun 15, 2013

Badger 5 Plus dead in 6 years

Puntos Fuertes: 1/2 horse power

Puntos Débiles: worked great for six whole years

After 6 years my badger garbage disposal leaked straight through. I would've thought it would've lasted longer. It worked great while it worked. 1/2 horsepower is all you need as it would stop for nothing. Buy another brand.

By anonymous; - Nov 2, 2009

Stay Away

Puntos Fuertes: Price, supposed name recognition.

Puntos Débiles: You get what you pay for, name was not what I thought it was.

I bought the 1/2 h.p. In-sink-erator Badger 5 disposal about 2-1/2 years ago, which came with a 2 year warranty. When I purchased it, I assumed the 2 year warranty was not going to be an issue because the previous In-sink-erator I was replacing was over 10 years old, and it seemed less solid than the Badger 5 I just purchased. Funny things happen when you assume, it turns you into the first 3 letters of the word assume, I know this, and I broke the golden rule of assuming.

Now about 6 months after the warranty on my Badger 5 expired I now have water leaking from a crack in the unit. Several of the other on-line compliants I've researched with the Badger 5 point to a crack in the housing with this unit, which seem to come shortly after the warranty expires.

Considering my last In-sink-erator lasted over 10 years, I assumed I would get at least 5 from this one, joke's on me I guess. I didn't realize this disposal was made by Emerson Electronics, which is the same company that makes all those cheap televisions, dvd players, and stereos found on end displays in drug stores. Not sure if the last In-sink-erator 10-year-life was a fluke, or if it was a good product at one time, but no longer?

Anyway, I have noticed that most of the favorable reviews here come from folks who just installed the Badger 5 (I've never understood posting favorable comments about a product that you haven't had long enough to know if it's reliable), but I'm sure those favorable comments might be later revised when their disposals start leaking just after warranty.

VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!

By anonymous; - Jan 2, 2009

Lasts until warranty expires

This is my second (and last) Badger 5. Both died shortly after the warranty expires (2 yrs) They both started leaking out the bottom, which means it would cost more to repair than to just replace. You'd think a more expensive model would last longer. I may go with a cheaper one after this. If it dies after 2 yrs. I'm in the same boat...only I didn't spend so much on one.

Por bill2007 on Home Depot - Jun 3, 2013

Deteriorating/Leaking

Puntos Fuertes: None

Puntos Débiles: Short life.

I bought a Badger 5 a couple years ago and a hole deteriorated on the side of it, now it is leaking. I'm replacing it with anything but another Insinkerator product.

Por rnrone - Feb 17, 2010

Insink erator garbage disposal

Puntos Fuertes: easy to install

Puntos Débiles: none

I had an old in sink erator which lasted about 20 years. When it quit I decided to get another In sink erator garbage disposal. I would highly recommend other customers to purchase an in sink erator product

Por Joemama1$ - Feb 11, 2008

2-year piece of junk

In my 20-years at this address this is the 6th same brand disposal I've installed. I have such limited space under my sink I'm pretty much forced to buy this same piece of junk.

Por lobo on Home Depot - Apr 30, 2013

I got the same leak shortly after...

I got the same leak shortly after the 2-year warranty ran out. Great.... My last one lasted close to 20 years.

Por Jester64086@yahoo.com_91359286 - Feb 10, 2014

Industry standard

I wasn't going to write a review, but when I read someone else's review that said they had water dripping out of the bottom of the unit where the wire housing is, I thought I better mention that that's what happened to mine. At least I got 9 years out of it, albeit light use as I'm a vegetarian and compost. I was just going to replace my old Badger with a new one to make installation easier, but now I think I'll look around a little more. Probably can't do much better for the price though.

Por Topher on Home Depot - Jun 12, 2013

Excellent Value, Great Buy

Purchased this unit to replace an older Insinkerator model. Can't believe how quiet this operates. My brother heard it and bought one too. My contractor installed mine, but bro said it was very easy.

Por pajarita80 on Home Depot - Jun 11, 2013

Great product

This product is great for its price. It was quite easy to install and is quieter than the one we replaced. It gets the job done!

Por Jim63 on Home Depot - Jun 4, 2013

Badger 5 1/2 Hp

This is an excellent product. I've had a Badger before (approx. 10 yrs. ago) and had to get it replaced. It was shipped on time as promised and I had it installed by a plumber.

Por Bennetta on Home Depot - Jun 4, 2013

Same price everywhere

Good product, installed easily. And it can be purchased anywhere. When purchased in a Home Depot store expect to pay about $100

Por Homeproject on Home Depot - Jun 1, 2013

SO easy to install

I replaced my old one with the new model(same one), it's quieter. Perfect and easy to install.

Por Codi on Home Depot - May 28, 2013

good value

arrived on time, savings from in store price, duplicate of old unit, so used the same flange to install

Por mich on Home Depot - May 28, 2013

Top Quality for a great price!

My old disposal began to leak, and I called a repairman to fix it - a man who has also become a friend, and I appreciate his honesty. Phil said the inside of the disposal was leaking and it could be fixed - but for the cost of fixing it, I could get an excellent new one. He recommended this one and said it is a dependable workhorse. What better recommendation is that? I bought it and he installed it and it works perfectly!

Por sharie on Home Depot - May 27, 2013

Easy and quick to install

Online shipping was ok only thing is that the item arrived banged up. I was desperate so I did not return. Next time store pickup where I can inspect and exchange immediately.

Por Rick on Home Depot - May 21, 2013

This product has superior components.

My last I.N.E Badger was a 1/3 horse power and It was a well working disposal that lasted ten long years of hard abuse, so I decided to purchase the I.N.E Badger 5 1/2 HP continuous Feed Garbage Disposer. The quick-mounting system is an excellent feature; in turn, making it the simplest garbage disposal I have ever installed. The Badger 5 1/2 chews up the toughest of food waste with ease. Do not spend extra money on those garbage disposal that claim to be quieter, because the I.N.E. 1 1/2 Badger disposal is not that loud.

Por Richyrich on Home Depot - May 21, 2013

Durable and inexpensive

Replace same product, lasted 10+years. Easy to install.

Por Stealthy on Home Depot - May 21, 2013

good price and easy to install

It did what it suppose to do. Nothing to complain.

Por Richard on Home Depot - May 21, 2013

Badger model 5-81, 1/2 hp

Installed my 2-year warranty Badger in March of 2008, and it failed today 5/12/2013. I guess planned obsolence wins again. Pretty sure I'll replace it with a 4- or 5-year warranty model this go around. Maybe of a different brand. I think a disposer should last longer than this. The 1/3 hp unit that came new with the house lasted 8 years. Of note is the fact that this unit is only a dollar more today than it was in 2008.

Por StAugustine on Home Depot - May 12, 2013

Too loud!

Had to take it back and purchase a quieter model. I was surprised at the quality, wasn't expecting that from an InSinkErator. Purchased another model, same brand... wonderful.... I guess in this case, you get what you pay for.

Por Mesmu on Home Depot - May 7, 2013

Unit is exactly the unit I needed

Easy to install and does a great job. This is my second badger unit I have purchased and I'm very pleased with the product.

Por Mnp25 on Home Depot - May 7, 2013

Great product

Fast shipping, easy installation, works great & quiet.

Por Jdeem on Home Depot - May 2, 2013

This Disposer is great.

So far so good on the Badger 5. It was recommended by a freind who replaced one last year. Istallation instructions were easy to understand and has worked good so far. I didn't buy it to put bones down the sink. I bought it to replace and old kenmore that has worked for 25 years. Can't beat it for the price.

Por Walter11 on Home Depot - Apr 29, 2013

This product does what it is designed for.

This is a good product and easy to install with enclosed instruction sheet.

Por ctc43 on Home Depot - Apr 16, 2013

The local Home Depot assured me this was a direct fit replacement for my existing unit. They were right..

Exact fit replacement for my existing 1/3 HP unit. This was a 1/2 HP unit. Existing plumbing was an exact fit as the local Home Depot assured me. I have very happy with the stores service and the fast shipping of the unit. It was very easy to purchase. Thank you.

Por Frank on Home Depot - Apr 9, 2013

not so long life

3 yrs later and the actual unit developed a leak along one of its seams. Not really acceptable.

Por Bob1 on Home Depot - Apr 9, 2013

Just a basic disposal

When we bought our, house in 2008, this same kind/brand disposal unit was mounted under the kitchen sink. In 2012, it started making the occasional grinding noise and finally froze up. I replaced it with this identical unit, mainly for a smooth transition. I'm still not sure how I feel about it. I realize that this thing is constantly wet and gets coated in some nasty stuff, but I can't imagine why something "designed" for this and only used occassionally over the course of 3-6 years locks up and fails. Thankfully, its not an excessively expensive item. Two months and ofcourse it works well. Its fairly easy to install, and in my case, very simple since the harware was already mounted/routed and all I had to do was swap the failed unit out. Regardless, its easy enough for "any man"... meaning it can be accomplished without refering to any "directions".

Por b1pig on Home Depot - Apr 9, 2013

Good Product

Easy to purchase and even easier to track. Store called when the item arrived and the price was what I expected. Item purchased as it duplicates the one currently installed and store no longer carries the exact replacement

Por agedrooster on Home Depot - Apr 9, 2013

18 months later and still strong

Fairly easy install. Working fine after 18 months. No complaints.

Por randy on Home Depot - Apr 8, 2013

Quality Product

Would be nice to keep the same design to make installation easier, instead of changing the drain spout attachment feature. I had to visit the hardware store in the middle of installation to buy a extension drain pipe. I replaced the same model older Badger disposal. I prefer the threaded drain pipe attachment instead of the flange plate type.

Por GA3035 on Home Depot - Apr 7, 2013

o

I haven't installed the product yet. It all came in good shape.

Por Joe1 on Home Depot - Apr 2, 2013

EASY install..Smoothe running..great price

It went in without any issues..it followed same form factor as my smaller older Badger model..Runs very smoothe and quiet...

Por 1948JLB on Home Depot - Apr 2, 2013

Inexpensive, mediocre, 4 years and leaks

Worked well for four years and then started leaking out of the base, just like everybody else lately - thankfully, slow enough & found soon enough to prevent cabinet damange. Anybody else notice that the top reviews were in 2008 & 2009, since 2010 the experienced reviews are negative?

Por BearBoy1 on Home Depot - Mar 31, 2013

Good product

Installation was simple, compatible with the unit I was replacing. There are lots of more expensive units but this one does the job for a lot less money.

Por Andrei on Home Depot - Mar 29, 2013

works efficiently to process waste and runs quietly.

Easy to install and saves space. runs efficiently and quietly. Highly recommended.

Por McDee on Home Depot - Mar 28, 2013

great price onlly neg. packaging busted up in top no damage to mdse.

I am 71 was easy to install ....glad I bought the 1/2 HP. will have longer life runs with medium noise very efficent,,

Por rbd1 on Home Depot - Mar 19, 2013

durable disposal

Easy to install and fairly quiet. Had this model for 20 years before it went out. Only one choice, replace with the same unit. Very happy with years of service.

Por Rick on Home Depot - Mar 19, 2013

A good value

This was easy to review and compare online. Placed the order and unit was delivered very fast. Is installed and working perfectly.

Por Greg on Home Depot - Mar 19, 2013

Easy swap out!

My OEM Badger 5 started leaking from the bottom after 10+ years... not bad. I replaced with the same model. Easy install, though the exhaust port was slightly different. Overall, a good value for the cost.

Por Road on Home Depot - Mar 19, 2013

Great features at a great price

Price dove me to the home depot site. You could not beat it on this item

Por crockett13 on Home Depot - Mar 19, 2013

Basic product and does the job

Performs well but I will agree with all customer that it makes a bit loud noise. But it does its job.

Por shrestha on Home Depot - Mar 19, 2013

Does not last long.

The bearing seal between the motor and grinder leaks and ruins/rusts all components until ruined.

Por RonB on Home Depot - Mar 18, 2013

Replacing today after 14 years

I'm going to opt for another Badger 5 today. I installed the first one 14 years ago when we built the house. It is now leaking at the bottom as noted in the other posts. I did make the mistake of breaking a large glass in the sink two days ago and noted that some of the glass made it into the disposal and I could not remove the small pieces. I'm thinking the glass may have cut an aging seal. I'm hopeful the new unit makes it the same duration as the last. I should note that we have a septic system and don't heavily use the disposal. We use it a few times a week, but not for heavy grinding...

Por Mike on Home Depot - Mar 17, 2013

Don't throw away the old "O" ring

I purchased this because it was an exact replacement of the 5 year old one that came when they built out house. After 4 tries I compared the old "O" ring with the one that came in the box of the new one. It was obviously larger making it slip off when you tightened the screws. I installed it with the old "O" ring, no problem. Bottom line don't throw away the old ring. I would recommend this product only as an exact replacement and keep your old ring.

Por James on Home Depot - Mar 15, 2013

Good for price

I replaced an old one that had rusted and was leaking. got the same brand but went up on the HP to 1/2. Install was easy only thing I was not expecting was I had to take the wiring off the old one and wire it up to the new one. This one was the biggest bang for my buck, everything in the store cost more.

Por Ross on Home Depot - Mar 13, 2013

Internal Leaks after 1 Year

AVOID - Had this unit approximately one year and it's leaking out the bottom of the unit from an internal leak. Apparently this is common with this manufacturer/model as other reviews show the same. I learned my lesson....Goodbye Insinkerator!

Por Ltrick on Home Depot - Mar 9, 2013

Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer

Prduct was deliver on time without defects; Installation was easy.

Por Amir on Home Depot - Mar 6, 2013

easy install - replaced a 15 year old Badger 5

works great. replaced a 15 year old Badger 5 that gradually wore out. Very satisfied with previous - expect 15+ years from the new one.

Por dannyboy on Home Depot - Mar 5, 2013

Very pleased with this purchase

Purchased for 2 BR condo. The size was only available online but is exactly what we needed. The 1/3 seemed too small and the 3/4 was too big. Install was fairly easy. We replaced an existing unit but had a new sink, and had to modify the drain connection. Runs VERY quiet compared to the old one, which was also a Badger but older model.

Por DIYnSAVE on Home Depot - Mar 5, 2013

A very durable and easy to install product

The Badger 5 1/2 hp insinkerator is a great product and comes with good directions for installation. The only drawback is that it does not come with a new power cord. So one has to cannabalize the old disposal for its cord or go all the way back to the store and hunt for the replacement parts. I think it is a very serious oversite on the part of Badger. Otherwise, a great product.

Por baldy on Home Depot - Feb 26, 2013

Product works as expected

I'm happy with the purchase. I received it promptly and was able to install it fairly easily.

Por Josey on Home Depot - Feb 19, 2013

Lasted longer than I expected

I purchased the Badger 5 1/2 horsepower approximately 9 years ago. It has served very well with regular usage. I have been very happy with it. I am now having to replace it. I am surely getting the same one. It was recommended to run ice in it every so often to clean it and to keep it in proper working order...(not sure if it helped). Had no orders and minimum to no jams.

Por Wanda on Home Depot - Feb 18, 2013

Quality could be much better for the money

Last 3-4 years before it leaks around the fuse button, making my whole cabinet a mass. how hard it is to manufacture an working erator without leaking for 5 years? Come on!

Por Tacky on Home Depot - Feb 11, 2013

Disposal has had a long life.

Lived in this house for 10 years and this is the first major problem I've had with this Badger 5. The seal between the disposal and sink is starting to go. The only other problem I've had is from a seized blade which really hasn't been a big deal. We've used it on a regular basis and I'll probably replace with another one.

Por ThatoneguyinIdaho on Home Depot - Feb 9, 2013

The product was great . Worked just like it was suposed to

The price on line was the best. The free shipping made this an even greater value. I am very pleased with my purchase.

Por kastlekeeper on Home Depot - Jan 29, 2013

Happy with the product!

I appreciated the easy installation, which was helped by the full, clear instructions. (I read the instructions three times before starting! No problems.) The quiet operation of the disposal unit is surprising! When this Badger 5 fails, I'll replace it with another #5.

Por bill on Home Depot - Jan 29, 2013

This product has all the features I needed.

This product had the correct disposal features for my kitchen and dishwasher waste that I was expecting. I had the same model and brand before and it seems to perform as well as my last one did. Also, I was able to use my same sink drain parts to connect the disposer to and did not have to replace them. This shortened my installation time.

Por Regg on Home Depot - Jan 24, 2013

easy to install

just what we needed, easy to install and quick to ship

Por theresa on Home Depot - Jan 22, 2013

This disposer is agood choice for the monet.

This Garbage Disposer is quieter than anticipated, good choice.

Por CougarGuy on Home Depot - Jan 22, 2013

You need to buy one of these

It may not be the largest or most expensive but when it comes to performance, it's an animal!

Por Johnny on Home Depot - Jan 22, 2013

Easy install

Took me about an hour to remove the old one and put this in. It had all the parts I needed (moved power cord from old unit). The last unit was the same model and lasted about 3 years (not great, but due to my wife putting hard stuff down the drain damaged it). I'm sure there are better out there, but the price was right and it fit nicely.

Por Tryder on Home Depot - Jan 22, 2013

Better than the old one...

What can I say? It's a dosposal. It's much quieter than our last disposal, but I think that was from the 90's so I would hope that disposal technology has improved. It is quieter and efficient. Fairly easy to install. DON'T FORGET to remove the drain plug for the dishwasher. It will back up dirty water into your dishwasher, but it is an easy fix.

Por tkorose on Home Depot - Jan 22, 2013

Haven't used much, but it has been no problem last few mos and the installation was not hard.

It was good to see picture instructions and they are much easy to follow for installation.

Por Nate on Home Depot - Jan 22, 2013

insinkerator badger garbage disposals

Puntos Fuertes: easy to install

Puntos Débiles: will not last more than 1 or 2 years past warranty. they have them engineered to destruct. I own rentals, and these units are not cost efficient.

easy to install and replace, but I regret ever using them. once you have one, the easy change feature will almost force you to buy another; MUCH sooner than you would like.

By anonymous; - Jan 21, 2013

Don't expect refund from Badger for product failure

I purchased a Badger for a condo renovation in August, 2012. The product consistently jammed and failed despite following the product guide directions for repair. The Badger jammed and failed just prior to Thanksgiving and clogged/overflowed the sink. I had to buy a new disposal and install myself to prepare for the family gathering. Badger refused to accept/pay for the returned disposer. Calls to customer service and manager were unsuccessful. Warranty doesn't provide repayment for product failure. Ridiculous.

Por jclapp7 on Home Depot - Jan 21, 2013

No problems so far

I recently wrote a review on the Badger 5xp (1/2 hp), which I don't think HD sells anymore. I had the disposal for about 5 to 6 years. The other day it stopped working. I was upset that the unit quit so soon. As I was pulling out the unit, I inadvertantly hit a button on the bottom of the unit. Immediately I knew what it was. It was the reset button. I plugged in the unit and it worked fine. So far, I have not had issues that other reviewer have had and I am happy with the disposal; no leakage or cracked case.

Por DavidM on Home Depot - Jan 16, 2013

good deal

perfect replacement fit under the stainless steal sink hook up

Por Jesso on Home Depot - Jan 15, 2013

Badger 5 1/2 HP finally failed after almost 7 years

In my experience, we have had this product installed when we purchased our new home (March 2006 - almost 7 years ago). It has been through light use, knowing that what can be disposed of in the trash would extend the life of the product had it otherwise been used to process the discards. I plan on replacing the product with the same model. With the warranty set for two years, the unit failing at almost 7 years of age, and to purchase the same unit at well below $100, I'd say this unit is a great value for use for a family of three in a small condo. (But with any disposal, using them for only the most-foul discards and hand throwing everything else to the trash will save you money in the long run.)

Por Jonathan on Home Depot - Jan 10, 2013

You Get What You Pay For

For beginners, the unit was very easy to install, but the durability of the garbage disposais marginal at best. True, it does come with a 2 year warranty, and the unit should last past that time frame. Mine began to leak from the bottom after 3 years with average usage. The motor still seem to perform, but the leakage was not something that could be tolerated. Seems like this is a common problem with this unit and others along this same product line. I upgraded to an Evolution disposal, also made by InSinkErator. The good news is that the mount to the sink is the same so I saved a few steps with the installation by using the old mount bracket. It cost more but came and is quieter plus it had 2 grind stages, but also came with a 4 year warranty. For the price difference, and two additional years, it was worth the cost, and my time to install the unit.

Por Ektelonman on Home Depot - Jan 9, 2013

Arrived quickly and the price was right

Arrived quickly and the price was right -- and because HD wants a longer review I'm adding this

Por DIYer on Home Depot - Jan 8, 2013

Great Price

I was shocked to find a price that was half what I was told by another co. more than ten yeaRS AGO.It installed perfect. Fit right into to old sink drain fitting that didn't want to be removed . It fine Works Great!

Por Filp on Home Depot - Jan 3, 2013

QUIET AND POWERFUL

GREAT UNIT EASY TO INSTALL - QUIET AND POWERFUL WOULD BUY ANOTHER WHEN THIS ONE DIES IN 20 YEARS

Por RICK on Home Depot - Jan 1, 2013

It was easy to install no problems. fit perfectly where the old one was

Only problem I had was trying to hold it in place and turn the ring to secure it. Its a little heavy for me to hold with one hand. Had my daughter hold it while I turn the ring . Voila new disposal!!

Por lmg1950 on Home Depot - Jan 1, 2013

Our old unit has lasted for many, many years, so I replaced with one just like it.

Based on the long time our previous unit has lasted, and expected ease of installation, I selected the same type as replacement. Therefore I had no problems with fit of the plumbing. The instructions were very good and I had no problems at all during the installation.

Por jetson on Home Depot - Dec 31, 2012

This product was a snap to replace.

This product was a replacement for the same disposal that had been in service for over 12 years. The replacement time was less than 30 minutes and very simple to do. I highly recommend this product.

Por Bear44 on Home Depot - Dec 31, 2012

Easy to install

A little noisy but easy to install. It works great.

Por Shawn on Home Depot - Dec 26, 2012

Loved the ease of installation.

Easy to read directions and great performance makes this a great buy.

Por papaponi on Home Depot - Dec 25, 2012

Good product for the price

Overall good quick shipping and for free Good product for a good price

Por Mjuser on Home Depot - Dec 25, 2012

Easy install, good price

Taking out my old disposal was more difficult than this install. I was replacing the same unit so everything fit well. I left the top sink hole assembly in the sink crime the old disposal. that made installing even that more simple. keep in mind new unit have no power cord. if u don't have an old one to use you'll need to get one.

Por bejamin77 on Home Depot - Dec 19, 2012

very happy

Lasted 12+ years felt it was time to replace before something happened

Por Mike on Home Depot - Dec 19, 2012

duplicate replacement for 20 year unit

old disposall needed replacement after 20 years, so replaced with same current model; good price, easy install, prompt (free) delivery

Por Pastor37 on Home Depot - Dec 19, 2012

Good deal for the money

Has worked great since installing it myself a month ago. It's a bit heavy so used my car jack to hold it up while installing. Having a friend handy during installation would have been helpful :)

Por Maggie on Home Depot - Dec 18, 2012

easy installation

value:very good product @ excellent price. customer service & ship time excellent.

Por mick on Home Depot - Dec 18, 2012

Each of previous 4 machines has performed very well. Easy to install.

Our fourth purchase of this same machine over a 20-25 year period of time, average 7+ years on each machine before leaking from the side of the machine started (not from hoses). High expectations and pretty good results. We are not hard on disposers and follow the useage insrtuctions so we expect longer life. Family of nine now a family of two so we expect to go longer on this most recent purchase. Great price on this unit and easy to install.

Por wmeverts on Home Depot - Dec 18, 2012

Just replaced a 13 yr old Badger 1

Replaced a 13 yr old Badger 1. The new Badger 1 installed in minutes used old power cord and drain, It was so easy and so fast just snapped in, and the new disposal is very quiet I would never use anything else.

Por BigGinkc on Home Depot - Dec 6, 2012

Guess you have to read the fine print!!

Was disappointed that the product arrived without the power plug being part of the product. KInd of like getting a toaster oven and having to use the power plug from the old one. Can't think that much is saved by the manufacturer...but it certainly puts a burden on the customer. ALSO... (although we caught it).... there should be a HUGE note/warning/heads-up...or something to ensure you take the dishwasher plug out if you have a dishwasher!! Other than that... it's installed, replacing the previous one that lasted 5 years. Hope this one does as well.

Por AzDan on Home Depot - Dec 4, 2012

Good for the money

My neighbor installed it for me and it was fairly easy.

Por TNLadyKnox on Home Depot - Dec 4, 2012

Best Garbage Disposal

Bestcovery experts have rated the In-Sink-Erator Badger V 1/2 HP Garbage Disposal as a best pick for the Best Garbage Disposal. Bestcovery's experts recommend the best products and services for a particular need based on extensive research and evaluations. Click below to see Bestcovery's full review of this product.
Leer Reseña Completa

By bestcovery.com - May 24, 2013