Reseñas para

Not Available

Opiniones sobre Productos (9)

Where\'s the iSight advertised in the latest MacWorld?

Puntos Fuertes: Small form factor, decent speed, Mac OS X, etc

Puntos Débiles: Intel graphics, 5400rpm 160GB HDD is largest you can get, doesn't do wireless "n" but claims it can, no firewire 800 or 5.1 analog audio, optical audio requires an adapter that isn't included, etc.

In the latest MacWorld magazine they advertise this particular unit to have iSight, but it doesn't come with it! Apple says on it's website that it can do wireless "n" but it can't, (in the developer section of the site,) without an after-market upgrade to it, Intel G-900 graphics when there is much better available as single chip solutions, memory is limited to 2GB max, it doesn't have firewire 800 capability or eSATA. (For Steve Jobs to have touted that they only use "top of the line parts" for their equipment, this unit falls way short of that goal.) Sure for $600 what do you expect, well me, I expect better than the graphics on it, a larger hard drive, not voiding the warranty if I want to upgrade it, a faster hard drive, wireless "n" capability, (even the Apple TV at $300 has this,) and at least 5.1 analog audio. (You can only use a 2 channel speaker set, unless you find an optical adapter and a 5.1 setup that uses it.)

All in all though this is a decent computer for those who don't need/want the horsepower that even a better on-board graphics chip will provide or doesn't want to listen to 5.1 audio through their already owned speaker setup. Mac OS X runs perfectly fine on it though and 2GHz with 2GB of memory, (though it only comes with 1GB,) is plenty fast enough for todays applications, if you're not into gaming or video encoding. It's decent enough to use for programming in XCode with, for most things. The lack of firewire 800 or even eSata is an outrage in this day in age, but you get 4 USB 2.0 ports in their place and DVI out.

It even comes with iLife '08 which is a plus if your not expecting to use it for anything other than iPhoto or Garageband. Don't expect much out of iMovie unless your interested in producing YouTube videos, otherwise it's a total waste of an application, grab iMovie '06 HD from their site instead. iWeb is still linked too much to their .Mac services which makes it all but useful for anyone that doesn't use .Mac. It does however come with a remote and their front end, Front Row, which is a small plus, along with it's tiny footprint, which allows this thing to be mounted/placed just about anywhere. You can even run Windows in bootcamp, if you so have the need, on it. Gigabit ethernet and Bluetooth 2.0 EDR is also a bonus, (just don't expect all the features of Bluetooth to be available like in many other Apple products, this is more of an O/S limitation though.) If you already have your own keyboard/mouse and monitor, especially if it's a previous version of the bluetooth keyboard/mouse, then this is an ideal unit for you. If you can live with the lackluster features of it, such as the graphics with shared memory instead of dedicated memory. You can also hide this away in your car/rv if you so choose and use it there as well, which is another plus for this unit.

Storage space is slow and limited, but can be easily expanded with additional USB HDD's for upgrades, which isn't the best solution, but without Firewire-800/eSata capability it's about the best your gonna get.

Por DisabledTrucker - Oct 4, 2007

Nice... using as HTPC

Puntos Fuertes: Inexpensive for an Apple system, can run MAC OS and Windows, great for HTPC

Puntos Débiles: No DVD burner; No Esata; relatively small hard drive; not easily upgradeable

I picked this up over the holiday season and am using it as my first "official" HTPC. I used an old XBOX before and it was good, but now I feel I can do much more. Started using the MAC OS, but switched over to Windows since it handled the video files a little better (for now).

I like that there's a lot of various technology in this little box. You got bluetooth, wifi, standard network jack, several USB, a firewire port, digital audio output, DVI. Of course newer generation things are omitted, which I guess is a way of cutting corners for price (no esata, no faster firewire).

I wish it was easier to upgrade this thing, particularly the hard drive and memory (from what I've read, it's hard to do). Apple should have included a DVD burner, at this point DVD-R drives are everywhere. It's also a bit silly that you can't easily upgrade the memory. With most other computers/laptops that is just a basic thing.

Overall, I like the machine. It serves its purpose for me. I'm using an external hard drive for now, and it works just fine.



Por blackcapten - Feb 27, 2008

Great SFF Computer

Puntos Fuertes: Small size, low power consumption.

Puntos Débiles: Expensive, not easily upgradable. No DVD burner, only 1gb of ram. No eject button.

Although expensive, this little box is amazing (from a pure hardware perspective). Based on my calculations, I expect to pay only about $5 max per month to keep this powered on 24/7 where as my regular server would be 4-5x that amount. The specs are decent, although the ram really needs to be upgraded to 2gb for it to run smoothly. The hard drive is 80gb and spins at 5400rpm, which is somewhat slow. But considering the entire system is built using parts meant to be in a laptop, this isn't so bad as its on par with laptop performance.

Por mavx14 - Apr 8, 2008

compact computer

Puntos Fuertes: nice and compact

Puntos Débiles: it's a pain to upgrade the ram, no 802.11n

I have to say that I am quite impressed by this little Intel Mac Mini computer. It's very quick with the duo 2 core processor and does most routine computing tasks with ease. Front Row with the included remote is very cool, Overall I would recommend the Mac Mini for casual computer users.

Por nelson714 - Dec 17, 2007

Mac Mini Core 2 Duo Desktop (1.83ghz)

Puntos Fuertes: Fast, Mac OSX System

Puntos Débiles: Hard to upgrade RAM

I think this is one of the best purchases I have ever made. I also upgraded it myself from 1024mb ddr2 to 2x1024mb ddr2 and I think it was a little difficult, not for myself but for someone who isn't as good with computers.
Minus than that this computer runs very well, minus than games due to a slower Graphics Card, but is very fast when upgraded to 2gb of ram.

Por Falcon165O - May 17, 2008

My new Mac Mini

Puntos Fuertes: Small, fast, quiet, doesn't get too hot, no hardware compatibility issues like Vista, great for home internet use and playing DVD's, works great with standard PC keyboard, mouse and DVI display.

Puntos Débiles: 80gb HD is kind of small, 1gb RAM is hard to upgrade, audio in jack doesn't work with standard microphone for Skype.

I'm a system administrator on a Microsoft network. After getting my MCSE and MCITP certifications, I am just sick of looking at Microsoft every day. Tried upgrading my old Dell laptop to Vista, but it was barely compatible with my hardware and the video looked like crap. That's why wanted to switch to Mac. I'm proud of the fact that my new Mac doesn't have ANY Microsoft software except for the Flip4Mac plugin to play MWV videos. Also, I used to be a UNIX sysadmin before Y2K and the OS X command line looks very familiar to me.

At first I wanted a 13 inch Macbook. The screen was just too small for my old eyes. Then I considered a 17 inch Macbook. It was kind of expensive. In reality, I never take my computer anywhere. I don't really need a laptop. The Mac Mini is a good laptop replacement for people who use a laptop as a desktop computer. I considered the 2.0ghz Mac Mini, but I really don't need a DVD burner. The 1.83ghz mini will probably run cooler too. I also considered a 20 inch iMac. The iMac looked impossible to upgrade or repair myself. Also there appeared to be no cooling fan. I felt the top of the screen and it just ran too hot. That's why I chose the Mac Mini 1.83ghz.

The memory looks hard to upgrade. I special ordered mine from the Apple store with 2gb of RAM. I've never used a 1gb Mac Mini, but mine is really fast with 2gb. The final price from the Apple Store with shipping was about $700. It blows away my old PC's 1.4 ghz single core processor and 1gb of RAM.

Let me tell you, the Mac Mini has a fantastic display. I'm using a Dell 19 inch widescreen DVI display. Couldn't afford $599 for the Apple Cinema display, but the Dell display works just fine. I can play DVD's with no Codec problems like a PC. The included remote control is cool for playing DVD's. My old PC keyboard, mouse and speakers work just fine. In fact, both mouse buttons and the scroll wheel work too.

One feature I really like is the Garage Band program. I look forward to recording my own music. I was disappointed when the line in jack didn't work with a microphone or my guitar. I had to pay $40 extra for a USB adapter. I also ordered a USB MIDI piano keyboard to go with it. I'll have to wait for my shipments to arrive so I can start recording music. The 80gb hard drive is too small and so is the 120gb upgrade. Instead, I ordered an external 500gb MiniStack hard SATA2 hard drive with a Firewire 400 and USB interface for movies, music, pictures and stuff.

For me, the Mac Mini has plenty of computing power for home use. It works fine for browsing the internet, playing videos, music and home entertainment. Haven't found many OS X compatible games though. I like the fact that it is Intel based for compatibility in the future.

I'm not totally giving up on Microsoft. I plan to install VMWare Fusion on my Mini. That way I can try out other operating systems like Windows 7 and Linux without doing a dual boot, partitioning my hard drive or reinstalling my system every time. VMWare Fusion will help me stay current with computer certifications. At the same time, I'll be able to play Windows and Linux games too.

My only complaint so far is with the Audio In jack. I couldn't use Skype with my microphone without paying extra for an adapter. The Mini doesn't come with an internal microphone like a laptop.

In conclusion, I am very happy with my Mac Mini. I've been using it for 2 weeks now. It will do everything I need after ordering a few accessories. OS X is much easier to use than I expected.


By anonymous; - Dec 20, 2008

Apple Mac Mini Core Duo

Apple Mac Mini Core Duo receives an overall TopTenREVIEWS score of 1.7 out of 4.00. It is ranked the #51 home computer of all time. The overall rating represents an intelligent balance of features, value as a function of price to features, and a summary of reviews from a variety of sources. The TopTen REVIEWS' formula gives a picture of important consumer features, market value, and a...
Leer Reseña Completa

By TopTenREVIEWS.com - Feb 9, 2009

Apple Mac mini - Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8GHz MB138LLA

TestSeek.com has collected 2 expert reviews for Apple Mac mini - Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8GHz MB138LLA and the average expert rating is 70 of 100. The average score reflects the expert community’s view on this product. Click below and use TestSeek.com to find all ratings, product awards and conclusions.
Leer Reseña Completa

By testseek.com - Oct 31, 2008

Best Price Apple Desktop

Performance is Average according to 8 Desktop experts. -- "brilliant graphics"-compusa.com -- "Meager standard memory allotment"-reviews.cnet.com -- "relatively small hard drive"-reviews.cnet.com Read more to find expert opinions on more features like Interface, Casing, Upgradability, Multimedia, etc.
Leer Reseña Completa

By reviewgist.com - Dec 21, 2009